top of page

Intriguing

My skin is not a weapon - Jaquon Smith

People usually assume that you are a product of your crew But i find that massively untrue People that look like me are used to “dirty dollars” No scholars And a sprinkle of ballers if you’re lucky A misconception is that all we do is “trap” And “listen to rap” Well i find this system of oppression whack Just because i wear snapbacks clapback And eat my snacks ( preferably hot cheetos) I deliver straight facts Just because my skin is black And my words are bold I remain to shine bright like a diamond Bronzer than gold So just sit back and Watch my story unfold I am unapologetically black 1000% A snack that smiles back When it’s attacking the sickening Listing of human beings, Being who they are truly meant to be You see I could write a book about the things you don’t know or about the reason our skin glows when it’s in the sun But I rather see the look on your face when you find that we won

bottom of page